Majid Hassanizadeh honored with Robert E. Horton Medal

18. Dezember 2019 /

Prestigious 2019 Robert E. Horton Medal for Majid Hassanizadeh for "outstanding contributions to hydrology"

Majid Hassanizadeh was awarded the 2019 Robert E. Horton Medal during the AGU (American Geoscience Union) Fall Meeting, which took place from December 9 to 13, 2019, in San Francisco (CA, USA). He received the prestigious medal at the Honors Ceremony, held on December 11, for his “outstanding contributions to hydrology”. He is being honored for his fundamental research in the field of flow and transport in porous media, developing new models and paradigms for surface and subsurface processes in hydrological, geological and industrial systems.

About Prof. S. Majid Hassanizadeh

Majid Hassanizadeh is an emeritus professor of Hydrogeology at Utrecht University whose research focuses on the transport of substances in porous media. Through his research, he contributes to solving problems with societal relevance, such as soil contamination, as well as with relevance for industry. In addition to his countless functions and leading activities in the research world, he is also the co-founder of InterPore – the International Society of Porous Media (since 2008). InterPore is a non-profit-making independent scientific organization with the aims of advancing and disseminating knowledge for the understanding, description, and modeling of natural and industrial porous media systems. Majid Hassanizadeh has a long-standing partnership with Rainer Helmig and the Department of Hydromechanics and Modelling of Hydrosystems (LH2) at the Institute for Modelling Hydraulic and Environmental Systems. Moreover, he was a long-standing partner of NUPUS project and has been, since January 2018, an external partner of SFB 1313 (research projects A01 and A02) and a Mercator Fellow for his dedication porous media research.

About the Robert E. Horton Medal

“The Robert E. Horton Medal is given annually to one honoree in recognition of outstanding contributions to hydrology. Established in 1974, the Horton Medal is named in honor of Robert E. Horton, who made significant contributions to the study of the hydrologic cycle. Medal recipients typically work in one of the following disciplines: biogeosciences, cryosphere, Earth and planetary surface processes, hydrology, nonlinear geophysics and near surface geophysics.” (Source: AGU Fall Meeting 2019)

AGU Honorary Ceremony: Horton Medal Acceptance Speech by Majid Hassanizadeh

AGU: Honor Ceremony. >> Watch Majid Hassanizadeh's Horton Medal Acceptance Speech from 1:25:42 to 1:29:57

Majid Hassanizadeh at the AGU Honorary Ceremony.

Mercator Fellowship


Dieses Bild zeigt Lehrstuhl für Hydromechanik und Hydrosystem-modellierung

Lehrstuhl für Hydromechanik und Hydrosystem-modellierung



Pfaffenwaldring 61, 70569 Stuttgart

Zum Seitenanfang